Nov 30, 2016

Arild Ansersen Trio Japan Tour 2017

In January next year, Arild Andersen, one of the top jazz bass player in Europe, tours japan. This tour is organized by Makigami Koichi who also appears as support act.

Arild Andersen – bass
Helge Lien – piano
Thomas Strønen - drums

tour dates:

January 12 - Mokkiriya, Kanazawa, Ishikawa
January 13 - City Gallary Core Hall, Takasaki, Gunma
January 20 - Coo, Sapporo

January 12, 2017
@ Mokkiriya
Kanazawa, Ishikawa
start 19;30
4,000 yen

Morrikiya, Kanazawa, Ishikawa

January 13, 2017
"New Year Jazz Concert in Takasaki"
@ City Gallary Core Hall
Takasaki, Gunma
other act: Third Person (Umezu Kazutoki - sax, Samm Bennett - drums, Makigami Koichi - theremin), Saga Yuki sings Nakamura Hachidai (Saga Yuki - vocal and guitar, Hayashi Masaki - piano, Sato Masaharu - percussion)

City Gallary, Takasaki, Gunma

January 20, 1977
@ Coo
open 19:30 - start 20:00
adv 4,500 yen - at door 5,000 yen

Coo, Sapporo

Oct 28, 2016

Makigami Koichi European Tour Winter 2016

In this winter, Makigami Koichi tours Europe. The dates are as follows:

November 24 - Narodowe Forum Muzyki, Wrocław, Poland
November 29 - Cankarjev Dom, Ljubljana, Slovenia
December 1 - Bimhuis, Amsterdam, The Netherland
December 3 - Japan Foundation London, London, England
December 4 - House concert at Swan Yard, London, England

Maybe more dates to be added. We'll let you know it in that case.

(updated on November 6)

November 24, 2016
"Far Out East - Traditional Japan"
@ Narodowe Forum Muzyki
Wrocław, Poland
Makigami Koichi - voice, Nakamura Akikazu - shakuhachi, Tanaka Yumiko - shamisen, Yagi Michiyo - koto
start 19:00

November 29, 2016
@ Cankarjev Dom
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Makigami Koichi solo
start 20:00

December 1, 2016
@ Bimhuis
Amsterdam, The Netherland
Makigami Koichi solo - support act of the Yagi Michiyo trio
open 18:30
Ticket: € 18 / € 15 (CJP, student card, stadspas)

December 3, 2016
@ Japan Foundation London
Russell Square Horse Hospital
London England
Makigami Koichi talks about his art and career following solo performance
start 19:00

December 4, 2016
@ House concert at Swan Yard
8 Swan Yard
London N1 1SD England
Kit Downs (organ) and Tom Challenger (saxophone) with Makigami Koichi (voice, theremin)
start 19:00

Oct 24, 2016

Christmas Concert 2016 @ Daiyanyama Unit Tokyo on December 25

Hikashu has been held a special concert at the end of each year since 2008. It features various guests and special program. The band's falthful audience from every part of the country gather to celebrate the bright moment and this year's is no exception.

The guests are two distinctive artists who've been active since the early days of the Japanese new wave movement: Hirasawa Susumu and Kera.

Surely this is going to be a memorable evening.

"Hikashu Christmas Concert 2016"
November 25, 2016
@ Daikanyama Unit
guest: Hirasawa Susumu, Kera
open 17:30 - start 18:30
5,000 yen

Daikanyama Unit, Tokyo

Yoimachi 2016 @ Hearts+ Ohtsuka Tokyo on November 6

Hikashu will appear at a music festival called Yoimachi 2016 held at Hearts+, Ohtsuka, Tokyo on November 6.

The roster of the event is kinda huge and the schedule is not available yet, so please consult later at the official site.

"Yoimachi 2016"
November 6, 2016
@ Hearts+
Ohtsuka, Tokyo
open 10:30

Hearts+. Ohtsuka, Tokyo

Sep 8, 2016

Food (Iain Ballamy, Thomas Strønen) with Makigami Koichi Japan tour 2016 September 18-21

Food, improvised music unit consisted with Iain Ballamy on saxophone and Thomas Strønen on drums, tours Japan this month. The dates are as follows:

September 18 - Jazz Art Sengawa, Tokyo
September 19 - Odawara Castle, Odawara, Kanagawa
September 20 - Super Deluxe, Roppongi, Tokyo
September 21 - Dolphy, Yokohama

Food plays as duo as well as with invited guests. This tour is no exception - all the dates are with Makigami and other interesting artists.

Food official site

September 18, 2016
@ Jazz Art Sengawa
Chofu, Tokyo
guest: Hikashu
See here for details.

September 19, 2016
"Kanagawa Re-Koten Project"
@ Odawara Castle Park
Odawara, Kanagawa
guest: Arzhan Suu (Makigami Koichi and Sato Masaharu)
open 18:00 - start 18:30
adv 3,000 yen - at door 3,500 yen

Odawara Joushi Koen, Odawara, Kanagawa

September 20, 2016
@ Super Deluxe
Roppongi, Tokyo
guest: Makigami Koichi (voice, theremin), Jim O'Rourke (guitar), Ishibashi Eiko (keyboard)
open 19:30 - start 20:00
adv 3,500 yen - at door 4,000 yen

Super Deluxe, Roppongi, Tokyo

September 21, 2016
@ Dolphy
guest: Makigami Koichi
open 19:00 - start 19:30
adv 3,500 yen - at door 3,800 yen

Dolphy, Yokohama

Sep 7, 2016

Star Pine's Cafe, Kichijoji, Tokyo October 6

Hikashu performs at Star Pine's Cafe in Kichijoji, Tokyo on October 6.

October 6, 2016
"Hikashu's Autumn"
@ Star Pine's Cafe
Kichijoji, Tokyo
open 18:30 - start 19:30
adv 3,900 yen - at door 4,300 yen

Star Pine's Cafe, Kichijoji, Tokyo

Aug 31, 2016

Double bill gig with 88 Places Pilgimage on October 21, 2016

Right now there are two appearances for Hikashu announced: One is Jazz Art Sengawa (Hikashu and Food playing together!), and the other is a double-bill gig with Hachiju Hachi Kasho Junrei (Eighty-eight Places Pilgrimage) at Hearts+, Ohtsuka, Tokyo on October 21, 2016.

Hachiju Hachi Kasho Junrei is a trio with progressive rock flavour. Their official site is here.

October 21, 2016
"88 Hikashu Junrei"
@ Hearts+
Ohtsuka, Tokyo
Other act: Hachiju Hachi Kasho Junrei
open 18:30 - start 19:00
adv 3,000 yen - at door 3,500 yen
Ticket available on September 4

Hearts+, Ohtsuka, Tokyo